Contact Us for a Case Evaluation (860) 397-6451


Debt Collectors Must Sue You Where You Reside

Posted by Roderick Woods | May 01, 2019 | 0 Comments

Many debt collection activities culminate in the court system. In instances of consumer debt, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) limits where a consumer can be sued.

Under 15 U. S. C. § 1692 i, a debt collector can only sue a consumer either: (a) in the judicial district where the consumer currently resides; or, (b) in the judicial district where the contract was signed giving rise to the debt. This provision of the FDCPA deals with venue and is becoming increasingly prevalent as consumers move from one state to another.

If a debt collector sues you in any other area than the above, it's a violation of the FDCPA, meaning that you may be entitled to recover up to $1,000 in statutory damages.

If you are being sued for delinquent credit card debt, it is imperative to formulate a defense as soon as possible. Failing to respond to a court summons can lead to disastrous consequences, including a default judgment, wage garnishment, liens on real property, and bank executions.

The Woods Law Firm, LLC has helped many Connecticut consumers. Don't wait to put our experience to work for you. Call us at (860) 999-9757 today!

About the Author

Roderick Woods

A summa cum laude graduate of the State University of New York at New Paltz and a graduate of Albany Law School of Union University in Albany, New York, Attorney Roderick D. Woods represents individuals in a wide array of consumer litigation matters, including defending consumers in lawsuits filed by credit card companies and debt buyers, and representing individuals in actions brought under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, as well as the Fair Credit Reporting Act.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Areas We Serve

The Woods Law Firm, LLC represents clients throughout the state of Connecticut, including Hartford, Tolland, Putnam, New London, Middlesex, New Haven, Litchfield and Fairfield Counties.