Contact Us for a Free Case Evaluation (860) 999-9757


What is the Statute of Limitations for Consumer Debt in Connecticut?

Posted by Roderick Woods | Apr 15, 2018 | 0 Comments

If you have been served with a Summons and Complaint for a lawsuit in the Superior Court of Connecticut or a Small Claims Writ for Small Claims Court, it is important to be aware of the statute of limitations for consumer debt. The statute of limitations determines during what time period an action can be commenced against you.

Under the Connecticut General Statutes, the statute of limitations for bringing a breach of contract action is six years. The six-year rule, however, only applies in the case of a written contract. In cases where there is an oral contract, the statute of limitations in only three years. Legal actions brought in Connecticut as a result of a payment default on a credit card account, loan, or promissory note are generally governed by the six-year statute of limitations.

The statute of limitations, or more appropriately, the lapsing of the statute of limitations, can be raised as a special defense under Connecticut law. If you are being sued by a credit card company or a debt buyer, don't wait to get the help you need. We can help you! Contact us today at (860) 999-9757 for a free case evaluation!

About the Author

Roderick Woods

RODERICK D. WOODS, ESQ. A summa cum laude graduate of the State University of New York and a graduate of Albany Law School of Union University in Albany, New York, Attorney Roderick D. Woods is an experienced litigator with a proven record of success in civil litigation. In 2007, he founded The...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Areas We Serve

The Woods Law Firm, LLC represents clients throughout the state of Connecticut, including Hartford, Tolland, Putnam, New London, Middlesex, New Haven, Litchfield and Fairfield Counties.